Mandu(Korean Dumpling) made me full XD

[tweetmeme “Jaehoonkorea” http://wp.me/pF4H6-9u]

Have you ever heard of “Mandu”?

Mandu are dumplings in Korean cuisine. First brought to Korea by the Mongols, they are similar to what are called pelmeni and pierogi in some Slavic cultures. The name is a cognate to the names of similar types of meat-filled dumplings in Central Asia, such as Turkish manti, Kazakh manty, and Uzbek manti. It is also a cognate with the Chinese mantou, although mantou is a steamed bun rather than a dumpling.

In Korean cuisine, mandu generally denotes a type of filled dumplings similar to the Mongolian buuz and Turkish mantı, and some variations are similar to the Chinese jiaozi and the Japanese gyoza. If the dumplings are grilled or fried, they are called gunmandu (군만두). Mandu are usually served with a dipping sauce made of soy sauce and vinegar.

    • noona
    • February 27th, 2010

    I love mando! ~ One of my favorite korean foods^^

  1. is there a vegetarian mandoo sold? i really want to try it.. but i cant eat meat due to religious reason.

    • Well, mostly there are two kinds of Mandu; Meat and Kimchi Mandu. Actually there’s meat in Kimchi Mandu too. Of course there’s Vegetable Mandu, but it is different to stores. Like the video on my post, you can put Tofus and Mushrooms instead of Meat.

  2. Ooh, those look tasty. I’ll have to go out and try some one day 🙂

    • Those really taste good!! XD and I just visited ur blog and you love Korean pop stars!

      • lol I don’t even remember when it all started, but I’m fascinated by Korean pop and Korean culture 😀

    • Follow me on my twitter @Jaehoonkorea

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

