[Monthly Special] Bukchon Hanok Village breathing Old but Fresh air

 

[tweetmeme source=”Jaehoonkorea” http://wp.me/pF4H6-3N

 Many European countries still have medieval-style buildings like Germany, England and so on. However in Korea there aren’t many Hanoks, which are traditional buildings of Korea. There was a huge war called “the Korean War”. It was the war between North and South Korea supported by Soviet Union and US. Because of that war, Korean architectures were destroyed so much. That leads Korean Society to build the modern buildings like US.

BUT!

 There is a village which has still traditional buildings of Korea! That’s Bukchon Hanok Village located in Jongno-gu. Bukchon Hanok Village was the place where the Royal family and other noble family were lived. There were not that many Hanoks before Japanese Colony era, but now about 1,408 blocks are filled with Hanoks.

 Not Only Hanoks, but Also ancient potteries and furniture! You can enjoy the exact Korean Traditions in Bukchon Hanok Village! Near Bukchon Hanok Village, there are some places that you can experience Traditional Korea. There are a few Hanok Experience Centers and traditional Korean Lacquer making rooms for experience or just seeing the process. Since there were many royal families who lived in Bukchon Village, it’s close to many Korean palaces like Gyeongbokgung, Changdeokgung, Deoksugung and Unhyeongung! That’s why Bukchon Hanok Village is a must-visit area of Seoul, Korea.

Seoul Tourism: Bukchon Hanok Village

Bukchon Hanok Village

↓ If you click the picture, you can see the exact map!

    • gillian
    • November 29th, 2009

    Hi Jaehoon! 🙂 I’m actl chrestos from Twitter, muahaha.

    Anyway, I really like your blog 🙂 & this post on Hanoks! (As well as the YB post of course. 장근석 ♥__♥ LOL) I have plans to go to Namsangol Hanok Village when I’m in Korea next week! (: Is it any different from this one?

    I love Hanoks though, they’re cool! I actually stayed in one in Jeonju last year 😀 & recently found out that they didn’t use nails to make a Hanok, is that true? O:

    & keep blogging (:

    • yes, it might be true because of the weather thing.. anyway, I’m so glad that you like my blog XD I’ll keep posting korean singer group or korean dramas, and Namsangol Hanok Village? that’s coool!!! Hanoks are different not because of the place, but because of the weather or regions! haha I hope you will enjoy the travel in Korea! 😀

    • michelle
    • November 30th, 2009

    wow sooo impressive. Actually I’ve been finding places like this! I wanna be a great photographer so pls keep me posted when you took pics like these~ lol -oh, guess u r korean, right ha?

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! 😀 Actually those photos.. are not taken by me T^ T sorry for disappointing but well.. pls come to my blog often! XD

  1. Hi Jaehoon,
    Glad you wrote about Bukchon, too! I love that map… actually, I love all maps^^

    Best, Matt

  2. hmmmm…..
    so this is the hanok thing u tell me.. wahhh i love it!! but the map so hard to understang actually i cant read map hheee…
    but i still love this post!! keep post about korean culture ok!

    • Oh, I should attach another map! thx anyway haha, yes! The Hanok that I told you is this!

    • Oh, actually you can see the map if you click it. Of course I’ll post a new map

    • gim
    • December 20th, 2009

    Hi Jaehoon ~ TNX for visitng my blog and I really like yer blog too!
    Nice photos ^^

  3. Jaehoon, I loved visiting Bukchon and staying there last year. So nice to see a Korean’s appreciation of it too. Best wishes and keep on blogging! Richard

    http://richardtulloch.wordpress.com/2010/03/24/seoul-korea-traditional-hanok-stay/

    • Hi Richard. Wow, it’s really cool. You stayed there? WOW and I think you love travel. Ah, I want some travels XD Thanks for visiting my blog! Have a nice day!

    • JOM
    • October 24th, 2010

    dear Jaehoon

    i’m jom from thailand. i will go to seoul on 5-11 nov 2010 may i ask u about seoul

    i would like to know JjimJilBang in Incheon International Airport but i’m not sure about it ? pls give me for more information about JjimJilBang in the airport thanks so much i can’t contact the airport

    ps

    is that the autumn on 5 – 11 nov? are the tree leaves changing their colour at that time? is it possible to see the red maple at that time

    thanks
    JOM

    • Well, first of all, Yes it’s autumn and you can see red Maple trees. (I’ve already seen some!)
      and Secondly, there’s JjimJilBang in the airport(I didn’t know that XD)
      “Spa on Air”(it may be the name of JjimJilBang)
      Daytime
      06:00~20:00 it costs 15,000 won
      Nighttime
      20:00~06:00 it costs 20,000 won
      (and if you entered into JjimJilBang in Daytime but still you are there after 20:00, then you should pay another 5,000 won)
      It’s on the Passenger Terminal B1(basement), near A~B sector 🙂

      if you need any other help, contact me
      jhj9210@naver.com
      Have a Nice Trip in Korea!

    • JOM
    • November 13th, 2010

    thank you so much i just came back from seoul yesterday i love red maple leaves so nice and it’s so cold haha i will go to seoul again in spring thanks and thanks again for info ^_^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

